School Board

School Boards play a key role in Western Australian government Independent Public Schools.  The school board supports the principal to provide the best possible educational outcomes for students.

Our School Board, established in 2015 when Governor Stirling Senior High School became an Independent Public School, is an active and highly effective advocate for the school and ensures the needs of the local community form an integral part of our strategic planning.

The Board have three main responsibilities:

  • Finance – overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation.
  • Strategic Planning – participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan.
  • Policy Development and Review – developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect the school’s values and strategic plan.

Becoming a school board member is a rewarding and challenging experience. All parents and local community members are eligible for membership on the Board.  The board is comprised of the following members:

  • The Principal
  • Two staff representatives (elected from staff)
  • Five Parent representatives (elected by parents)
  • Two community members (selected by the board from the nominations)
  • One P & C representative.

While there are no student members on the board, every meeting has a given opportunity for representatives from the Student Council to provide their feedback and concerns.

The School Board meets at least 5 times a year. Meetings are open to parents, students and community members.  Normally meetings are held in the admin block conference room, however they may be held in the theatre if more space is required.


The Board operates under a terms of reference provided by the education department.  This document describes the functions and operations of the board.  Click Here to download it (PDF)

The school maintains a strategic business plan to establish priorities and measure the results it achieves.  The current plan is for the period 2015-2017, and is available here.  One of the main roles of the board is to assist develop, review and assess the school’s achievement of the strategic plan.


For 2019, the board meets at 4:30 pm in the admin conference room on the following dates:

  • Monday 18 March 2019
  • Monday 20 May 2019
  • Monday 24 June 2019
  • Monday 19 August 2019
  • Monday 28 October 2019
  • Monday 25 November 2019


The board is made up of the following members:

  • Pasco Putrino (Principal)
  • Claire McWaters-Smith (Chair & Parent)
  • Stephen Matthews (Deputy Chair & Parent)
  • Martin King (Finance Committee Representative)
  • Kamah Moore (Parent member)
  • Jo Jackson-King (Parent member)
  • Soren Jensen (Parent member)
  • VACANT (P&C Representative)
  • Karen Clark (Staff)
  • Raj de Santis (Staff)