Alumni Profiles

When graduating from high school we like to keep in touch with past students and their successes. We are very proud of how our past student’s leanings have turned into opportunities in the real world.

We are constantly up-dating our Alumni ‘NOTABLES’ List. If you know of a past success student or are one yourself, and would like to be placed on our list, please contact the school P.A. for consideration.

Notables – Student Alumni GSSHS

Name Greatest Achievement Exit year
Hon. Michael Murray Justice of the Supreme Court of Western Australia 1990-2012
Peter Randall Medical specialist Head Boy early 1960’s
Yvonne Ludlow Netball for Australia Head Girl 1961
Cathy Puskechsan State Athlete
Gaye O’Malley State Swimmer
Max Biddington Olympic Hurdler 1966/67
Robert Pearce Minister for Education, Australian politician, and a member of the Western Australian Legislative Assembly 1964
John Owen Orthodontist
Dale Pickett Represented five AFL including the Fremantle Dockers
Steele Bishop World Road Racing Champion in 1983 & Author
Graham Blair Developed a successful Horticulture business
Gary Sidebottom AFL played for St Kilda and Swan Districts during the 70s and 80s
Diane Sidebottom Played Netball for the State
Craig Gregson Barrister and Solicitor of the Supreme Court of WA
Professor Cheryl Kickett-Tucker Executive Director, Pindi Pindi Pty Ltd, Centre for Research Excellence in Aboriginal Wellbeing, National Basketball League player
Kate Lamont Cook, Entrepreneur and Author
Christopher Pullin Justice of the Court of Appeal Western Australian
Zak Kirkup Liberal member for Dawesville
Ramon Andersson Dual Olympian
Matthew Bill Young West Australian of the Year 2017
Daniel Webb Human Rights Lawyer
Liz Wylie Medical practitioner at health department of Western Australia
Domenic Spagnolo Dux 1969 Specialist Doctor/Clinical Director – Professor at Sir Charles Gardiner Hospital
Milton Rendel Owner/Operator Real Estate Plus and other affiliated businesses 1976-77
Aaron Bowman One of the youngest CEO’s – Local Government 1993-4
Ljiljanna Maria Ravlich Minister for Education, Member of the Western Australian Legislative Council for East Metropolitan/North Metropolitan
Nic Naitanui AFL player – West Coat Eagles 2003-2007
Damon White AFL Player – Adelaide
Tony Notte AFL player – West Coat Eagles 2003-2007
David Ellard AFL player – Carlton 2002-2004
Michael Walters AFL Player – Fremantle Dockers 2007-2008
Jarrad Blight Drafted by Collingwood 2004-2008
Rory Lobb AFL Player – GWS 2006-2008
Nathan Broad AFL Player – Richmond 2006-2010
Todd Banfield AFL Player – Brisbane 2003-2007
Sunday Aryang West Coast Fever player 2014-2018
Nigel Satterly Property developer 1960s
Graeme Wallis Wallis Drilling – Worldwide Managing Director. 2019 Graeme is mentioned in the Queen’s Birthday honours list
Dr Trevor Fernihough Doctor
Greg Yusich Baritone & Opera singer who has performed with Dame Joan Sutherland. Awarded Member of the order of Australia in the 2006 Queens Birthday Honours list for services to the Performing Arts
Ron Edwards MHR Politician
David Phillips Violinist with WASO
Dr Barry Hopkins Cardiologist
Joyce Bennett Represented Australia in the 1964 Olympics in Tokyo in Athletics and the commonwealth games in Jamaica in 1966
Yvonne Johnston Miss Australia 1967
Tony Mann State Cricketer
Karen Grant Miss WA finalist 1963
Bill Vaughan Perth League Footballer 1963
Eddie Tomczak Army Lieutenant 1963
Dr I Carija Specialist Anaesthetist
Professor Bruce Robinson West Australian of the Year in 2013 and has since been honoured with the order of Australia for his service to the community in Medicine, Research and training
Rear Admiral Raydon William Gates Retired officer of the Royal Australian Navy
Professor Frank Christiansen Has worked at Royal Perth Hospital for more than 35 years


Staff Alumni – GSSHS


Name Greatest Achievement Teacher & Year
Craig Davies Australia and WA Hockey and Olympic medallist Phys Ed/ Science Teacher mid 1980’s
Colleen Pekin Commonwealth Athlete Current Maths Teacher
Lawrie Sawle Australian Cricketer and chairman of the selectors for the Australian National Team Principal – 1978