School Board

Governor Stirling Senior High School

School Board

School Boards play a key role in Western Australian government Independent Public Schools.  The school board supports the principal to provide the best possible educational outcomes for students.


Our School Board, established in 2015 when Governor Stirling Senior High School became an Independent Public School, is an active and highly effective advocate for the school and ensures the needs of the local community form an integral part of our strategic planning.


The Board have three main responsibilities:

  • Finance – overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation.
  • Strategic Planning – participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan.
  • Policy Development and Review – developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect the school’s values and strategic plan.

Becoming a school board member is a rewarding and challenging experience. All parents and local community members are eligible for membership on the Board. The board is comprised of the following members:

  • The Principal
  • Two staff representatives (elected from staff)
  • Five Parent representatives (elected by parents)
  • Two community members (selected by the board from the nominations)
  • One P & C representative.



While there are no student members on the board, every meeting has a given opportunity for representatives from the Student Council to provide their feedback and concerns.


The School Board meets at least 5 times a year. Meetings are open to parents, students and community members. Normally meetings are held in the admin block conference room, however they may be held in the theatre if more space is required.


Terms of reference –  The Board operates under a terms of reference provided by the education department.  This document describes the functions and operations of the board.  Click Here to download it (PDF)


Strategic plan – The school maintains a strategic business plan to establish priorities and measure the results it achieves. The current plan is available here. One of the main roles of the board is to assist to develop, review and assess the school’s achievement of the strategic plan.

School Board Elections

Election of parents, community members and staff to the School Board

The School Board is comprised of 11 members. Five (5) positions are for parents, 2 positions for community members, 2 are for school staff and one P&C representative. The school Principal is automatically on the Board.

Parent and staff positions are for two years, and are elected positions.  Community members are appointed by the Board.


2021 School Board Nomination Form


Parent member nomination and voting

Nominations for vacancies on the school Board are called early Term 1 of each year. The 2-year tenure commences from the first meeting of Term 2.


Community member nominations

The Board will appoint the community members from a list of nominees.


Staff nominations

Nominations for staff vacancies are called early Term 1 of each year with tenure commencing from the first meeting of Term 2,  Note that staff members are not eligible to nominate as parents, even if they have children at the school.


The school links to tertiary and industry bodies to offer Governor Stirling Senior High School students access to university pathways, scholarships, traineeships, and future training opportunities. These initiatives support the revitalisation of Governor Stirling Senior High School.


Leighton Contractors

Leighton Contractors is an Australian company that employs more than 10,000 people in a wide range of jobs – mechanics, electricians, engineers, IT, administrators, safety and environment experts plus many more. As one of the most diverse companies in Australia, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea, Leighton Contractors has a wide range of jobs across the infrastructure, construction, mining, telecommunications, energy and services industries.

Through their apprenticeship, traineeship and graduate programs, they’re providing young people with hands-on experience and opportunities to build a career with Leighton Contractors.

The Approved Specialist Program in Engineering aims to help meet demand for engineers and tradespeople in Western Australia. The sponsorship agreement with Leighton Contractors for $268 000 over five years included scholarships for female, Aboriginal and academic students studying the Engineering program.


The University of Western Australia

The Memorandum of Understanding with the University of Western Australia is for academic staff to contribute to the development and delivery of the Approved Specialist Engineering Program curriculum; provision of specialist workshops at the school; student visits to UWA and access to university pathways.


SKM – Sinclair Knight Merz

Sinclair Knight Merz (SKM), a leading projects firm with global capability in strategic consulting, engineering and project delivery, operates across the Asia Pacific, the Americas, Europe, Middle East and Africa, deploying some 7,000 people from more than 40 offices.

Engineers from SKM worked with Governor Stirling Senior High School and the University of Western Australia (UWA) to help design and develop an engineering curriculum and engineering projects for Year 8 to Year 12 students. The program prepares students for both tertiary-level engineering and TAFE-level para-professional engineering.

SKM was introduced to the school via its relationship with the Beacon Foundation – one of the school’s previous community partners.


Beacon Foundation

Beacon’s programs support young people to develop a positive pathway focus through engaging and influencing the attitudes and behaviour of the broader community. By harnessing community involvement, it works within schools to ensure young people are either earning or learning at vulnerable transition points in their lives.

“Our school aims to provide students with a well-balanced education within a supportive learning environment designed to unlock their individual potential.”

– Dr Pasco Putrino, Principal

Meeting Dates & Members

For 2021, the board meets at 4:30 pm in the admin conference room on the following dates:

  • Term 1 Monday 29 March
  • Term 2 Monday 24 May and Monday 28 June
  • Term 3 Monday 30 August
  • Term 4 Monday 1 November and Monday 29 November

Current Board members are:

  • Pasco Putrino (Principal)
  • Stephen Matthews (Parent member
  • Kamah Moore (Parent member)
  • Julie Lee (Parent member)
  • Tamara Hontscharenko (Parent member)
  • Soren Jensen (Parent member)

Current Board members cont:

  • Martin King (Community member)
  • Ian Johnson (Community member)
  • VACANT (P&C Representative)
  • Karen Clark (Staff)
  • Raj de Santis (Staff)

Finding Your Way…